Ben Sweeney’s Weblog

Got a Fulbright, living in Georgia for a year.

Still Trying to Get My Mother to Write a Guest Blog Post

leave a comment »

Another post coming soon – I’ll write up my travels from in America an on the way back to Georgia as well as the traveling etc. I’ve done since I’ve returned.
Also, my mom was recently in Georgia for a bit and she quite enjoyed herself.  She took some notes, so I’m trying to convince her to write it up for me to post here.
In other news, apparently they are removing the large Stalin statue in Gori.
links:
Georgia has an interesting relationship with Stalin’s legacy.  Many still look up to him as a Georgian who achieved a high position of power, and you can find portraits of Stalin in some homes and occasionally small statues scattered around the country.  However, while I feel that Georgians on the whole don’t mind the Russian people, the August war polarized many Georgians against the threat of Russian imperialism and the former control of the Soviet Union.
There was a rumor that during the August war Saakashvili, jealous of the reverence that Stalin receives, wanted to bomb the sculpture and blame it on the Russians, leaving Saakashvili as proud, strong leader of his own country, with no other idols to compete with.

Another post coming soon – I’ll write up my travels from in America an on the way back to Georgia as well as the traveling etc. I’ve done since I’ve returned.

Also, my mom was recently in Georgia for a bit and she quite enjoyed herself.  She took some notes, so I’m trying to convince her to write it up for me to post here.

In other news, apparently they are removing the large Stalin statue in Gori.  Articles at Georgia Today and Art Club Caucasus.

Georgia has an interesting relationship with Stalin’s legacy.  Many still look up to him as a Georgian who achieved a high position of power, and you can find portraits of Stalin in some homes and occasionally small statues scattered around the country.  However, while I feel that Georgians on the whole don’t mind the Russian people, the August war polarized many Georgians against the threat of Russian imperialism and the former control of the Soviet Union.

There was a rumor that during the August war Saakashvili, jealous of the reverence that Stalin receives, wanted to bomb the sculpture and blame it on the Russians, leaving Saakashvili as the proud, strong leader of his own country, with no other idols to compete with.

Written by bensweeney

September 7, 2009 at 10:49 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

