Ben Sweeney’s Weblog

Got a Fulbright, living in Georgia for a year.

Back to the Blog

leave a comment »

So,  I’m back in Tbilsi.  And my Fulbright is over, so things are changing.  One of those things is that I’ll be posting more here hopefully – keeping a record of this time of my life for myself and others.
I was just in America for a short stretch ,where I got to visit my family a few friends, and help out with the Orientation for outbound Fulbright grantees.
Returning to America after about a year, I felt culture shock for the first time.  It wasn’t that much, and a lot of it could be explained by jetlag and flu like symptoms which hit as soon I got in (either food poisioning or something that was going around Tbilsi right before I left).  The two things that struck me were the amount of cars in every driveway, and the grocery stores.

So,  I’m back in Tbilsi.  And my Fulbright is over, so things are changing.  One of those things is that I’ll be posting more here hopefully – keeping a record of this time of my life for myself and others.

I was just in America for a short stretch, where I got to visit my family a few friends, and help out with the Orientation for outbound Fulbright grantees.

Returning to America after about a year, I felt culture shock for the first time in my life.  It wasn’t that much, and a lot of it could be explained by jetlag and flu like symptoms which hit as soon I got in (either food poisioning or something that was going around Tbilsi right before I left).  The two things that struck me were the amount of cars in every driveway, and the grocery stores with all the produce – you had no idea where it was from, often it was shrink wrapped – I’m too used to people sharing rides or taking public transit and buying fresh vegetables off the street.  In any case, it is nice to be back here, even though I still miss friends and family at home.

Anyways, I’m off again, I’ve had a bit of a trip here – some time in Turkey with my sister, then a bit of work here, then a weekend on the seaside – I’ll cover that later.  Now I’m off for the mountains for a few days, will go to my friend’s granny’s place and then try out my tent for a night or two.

But I’ll be back soon enough.

Written by bensweeney

August 18, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

