Ben Sweeney’s Weblog

Got a Fulbright, living in Georgia for a year.

The quickest way to my heart might just be Georgian food through my stomach

with 2 comments

So, I’ve mentioned before the random feeling I get that I really love this place (or possibly just this world). I also get another similar feeling just as strong which I’ve noticed pops up from time to time. The fully formed thought comes into my head that I live really well, that my life is excellent judged by my standards, and compared to the lives of most other people on this world. This is a pretty humbling feeling, and I am incredibly grateful for what I have.

I’ve noticed a pattern with this particular feeling. Whenever I go out to a restaurant for food here I feel it. I sit down and eat at some place here and inevitably this feeling of complete satisfaction will come over me.

Almost every restaurant here has practically the same menu, which means I can go in and know exactly what I want without having to look at what they have. Well, then I get what I wanted, and it is a feast. Seriously, every meal I have had here is one of the best meals I have had in my life (and costs on average less than $10).

I only realized that there was this pattern a day or two ago, and I am still trying to figure out the exact reasons for the triggering of this emotion which is pretty strong and consistent. I suppose I really like food. As a quick aside to my sister who might be worrying, I’m not gaining much weight as far as I can tell.

Written by bensweeney

December 30, 2008 at 8:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yeah, food from that part of the world is amazing … sadly not well popularized in the US. i had some great stuff in moscow recently, of all places. definitely interested in more.

    jose

    January 2, 2009 at 7:25 pm

  2. :)))

    Happy you like Geo food. Doesnt it hurt your stomach though? :))

    ანტიგონე

    August 19, 2009 at 12:52 pm


Leave a Reply

