Ben Sweeney’s Weblog

Got a Fulbright, living in Georgia for a year.

Latest News

with one comment

So, there are protests scheduled today for in front of the parliament. I’m really hoping this will allow me to get in contact with groups of pensioners, something I’ve found hard to do. However, almost everyone I’ve talked to thinks the protests will be minor. The reason for the protests is it is the one year anniversary of major anti-Saakashvili protests from last year. Saakashvili has remained relatively unpopular, but he was re-elected, and although the conflict was unpopular to say the least, there is a feeling that getting rid of him would be a victory for the Russians. Also, it is raining, so I expect a smaller turnout.

The other thing I wanted to update about is fears that another conflict will break out. My roommate is a major proponent of this theory and he keeps me up to date on factors that could lead to this. Firstly, there are plenty of reports of open violence in South Ossetia, with sniper fire across the border. However, I have heard that much of the fighting is between Ossetians and Russians. Apparently the Ossetians are refusing to return the guns that the Russians gave them. Also, just recently, there was a bombing in Vladikavkaz with many dead and wounded. This is a follow up to Russian claims that there would be a Georgian terrorist act in Russia, and the Russians will probably try to blame Georgia for this, but I don’t think much will come of it. The point is though, that this region is not completely stable.

One other thing which has just come to my attention is that the Georgian Lari is taking a nose dive. Bad times, and I’m glad I have my money in dollars.

Also, my electricity has gone out, and having internet at home is as unlikely as ever.

I have many posts to catch up on, many half written, so expect more in the next few days, as well as an update on the protest.

Written by bensweeney

November 8, 2008 at 8:57 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Ben,
    What is the general sentiment in Georgia about Obama’s victory?
    Miss you, love you,
    ginia

    Ginia

    November 8, 2008 at 4:54 pm


Leave a Reply

