Ben Sweeney’s Weblog

Got a Fulbright, living in Georgia for a year.

First post

with 2 comments

Hello,

So, if you are reading this, you probably already know that I got a Fulbright Grant to study in Georgia for a year. I’m going to use this blog to write about what I’m up to and talk about the situation in Georgia.

I am flying to Russia tomorrow, and plan to spend a month there, mostly in St. Petersburg. I have a ticket to fly from Moscow to Tbilisi in mid September, but that has looked like it won’t happen ever since the Georgia-Russia conflict started. Hopefully Georgia will be safe enough for the State Department to allow me to go there, but even if it is safe enough, there is still the likelihood that the Russia-Georgia border could be shut down. So I might have to fly to Turkey or Armenia or Azerbaijan and travel by land from there.

I really do want to go to Georgia, and I trust that if if I can manage to get there (with State Department approval), it will be safe enough for me. In the meantime, I’ll be in Russia, catching up with old friends and starting to learn Georgian.

I’ll have a post soon on the background to my Fulbright, and application, and on what I think about what is going on right now in Georgia.

Written by bensweeney

August 17, 2008 at 11:00 pm

Posted in Travel Plans

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Be safe Ben! Glad to hear you are having a good time.

    Rosy

    August 20, 2008 at 11:14 am

  2. BEN ARE YOU ALIVE

    adnan

    September 14, 2008 at 11:38 pm


Leave a Reply

